English Language Requirements

Applicants whose first language is not English, or who have not studied for three years in an English speaking secondary or post-secondary institution (where English is the language of instruction and examinations are in English) must submit proof of English language proficiency by supplying their scores/results of either the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or the International English Language Testing System (IELTS). Applicants who are not residents of Canada at the time of application must arrange to take the TOEFL/TWE or IELTS in the country from which they are applying.

Tyndale’s TOEFL institution code is 0532.

Minimum scores: IELTS: 6.5, TOEFL (iBT): 90, TOEFL (PBT): 570, TOEFL Computer-based Test: 230, TOEFL (TWE)*: 5 (*The TWE is typically taken with the paper-based and computer-based TOEFL exam.)

An interview or school-administered Language Writing and Diagnostic Test may also be required at the discretion of the Admissions Committee. Note: Meeting these test scores does not guarantee admission to Tyndale University, and additional testing may be required before admittance is granted.

All official transcripts and documents must be mailed directly from the institution. Documents emailed or opened by the student are invalid.

Graduation from a recognized degree program and/or four years of full-time study in English (to the grade 12 non-ESL level) in one or more of these countries will satisfy the Tyndale University English language admission standard.

  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Guyana
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • St. Helena
  • St. Kitts & Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent & the Grenadines
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Tanzania
  • Turks & Caicos Islands
  • Uganda
  • United Kingdom
  • USA
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe