Thanatology Programs at Tyndale

Tyndale University

Thanatology Programs.

Thanatology is the study of grief, bereavement, death and dying. This growing discipline explores the grieving process, ethical issues surrounding death and dying, cultural, gender and societal attitudes towards death, the issues facing both the dying and the bereaved, and the place of ritual and memorialization. Tyndale offers several Thanatology graduate level programs.

Master of Divinity (MDiv)

Pastoral Thanatology

Tyndale’s MDiv is a three-year professional ministry degree that provides you with knowledge and skills to be an effective and holistic ministry leader.

  • Leads to Certification
  • Internship Required
  • 3 Year Program
  • 27 Courses
  • Available Fully Online



Master of Arts (MA)


Tyndale's MA programs robustly address the needs of students and future employers in a changing world.

  • Leads to Certification
  • Internship Required
  • Program Specific Admissions Requirements
  • 2 Year Program
  • 18 Courses
  • Available Fully Online



Post-Graduate Diploma

Pastoral Thanatology

Tyndale’s Post-Graduate Diploma builds upon a qualifying master’s degree to help you gain the requirements for the Certified Thanatologist Pastoral Specialist (CTPS) designation.

  • Leads to Certification
  • Internship Required
  • Qualifying Master's Degree Required
  • 1-1.5 Year Program
  • 7 Courses
  • Available Fully Online



Doctor of Ministry (DMin)

Pastoral Thanatology

Tyndale's DMin is an in-ministry degree program is designed to enhance your spiritual, intellectual and professional abilities in Christian ministry.

  • May lead to Certification
  • Internship not required unless seeking Certification
  • Qualifying Master's Degree Required
  • 3.5 Year Program
  • 12 Courses
  • Post-DMin Certificate Option Also Available
  • Distance Learning + On-Campus Residency



Concentration in Pastoral Thanatology

MDiv, MTS and Graduate Diploma students may use their elective courses to complete a four-course concentration in Pastoral Thanatology.

Learn more about Concentrations

Need Help?

Tyndale's Admissions Counsellors are here to answer any questions you have about our programs, the Tyndale community, residence and financial aid.

Talk to Admissions

Certification and Internship


Students who desire the designation of Certified Thanatologist Pastoral Specialist (CTPS), granted by the Canadian Council for Professional Certification, will complete all the educational requirements within Tyndale's Thanatology programs. Certification requires a minimum of six courses in thanatology plus an internship of 260 hours.


An internship is required to successfully complete the MDiv, MA and Post-Graduate Diploma Thanatology Programs. DMin and Post-DMin Certificate students who desire the designation of Certified Thanatologist Pastoral Specialist (CTPS), will also need to complete the required internship hours.

CCPC Global Inc., a recognized certifying body, is responding to both social expectation and professional need, to certify those qualified individuals who are engaged in the counselling ministry of Thanatology. (Death, Dying, Grief and Bereavement)

Learn More about Certification and Internship Requirements

Online Options


  • You can complete the MDiv,  MA and Post-Graduate Diploma programs fully online.
  • Some courses may be offered in-person with a synchronous online option.
  • Some courses may be offered online in a fully synchronous or asynchronous format. Online learning format details
  • The Doctor of Ministry degree is completed in a cohort model, with some sequenced courses. Students will complete 12 courses within 3 years, with distance learning and residency phases each year.
    • The Distance Learning phase includes reading, writing, research, reflection, application, and collaboration primarily supported by teachers, personal growth coaches, and research portfolio advisors.
    • The residency phase – two weeks in June and one week in January – includes worship and prayer, lectures, plenary discussions, group activities, small group meetings, and individual work.